Answering random questions

So I thought a lot of my blog posts are quite serious in topic, and I thought I’d do a blog post where I answered some random questions I’ve found. So you might learn something new about me, it might be interesting, boring, or random. But hopefully this will be a bit of fun to write and hopefully an enjoyable read.

  1. What’s your favourite colour? blue and orange
  2. What’s your favourite food? Veggie fish and chips with no tartare sauce from Kim by the Sea (specific I know, also veggie ‘fish’ is battered halloumi)
  3. What’s your favourite dessert? cheesecake
  4. How old are you? 26
  5. What do you do? I am a student, studying part time for a BA (hons) in history with the Open University (distance learning university)
  6. What are some of your favourite movies? Bridget Jones (all three) I bloody love them, I like romcoms, period dramas, dramas, comedies
  7. What kind of music are you into? classical music, film scores and musicals, the odd bit of pop music and 2 cellos.
  8. If you were going to write a book, what would you call it and what would it be about? It would be an autobiography called ‘You and I harm me’
  9. What’s one of the scariest things you’ve ever done? come out as trans and be open (to a degree) about being severely mentally ill
  10. When you were a kid, what did you want to be when you grew up? when I was little a firefighter, then when I started to play the violin a violinist, then a trumpet player and then a horn player
  11. As a kid were you ever frighted of a monster under the bed or in the cupboard? No, but I was convinced the Normans were on the grass area outisde my window and were going to fire their arrows at me like in the Battle of Hastings
  12. Do you have a swiss army knife? Yes I have 4, 2 tiny ones, a medium one and a big one
  13.  At what age did you twig onto the fact Santa wasnt real? About 5 I think
  14. What do you do for fun? make airfix and lego models, tell people about the Tudor period
  15. If you could visit any country in the world, where would you go? Austria
  16. If someone asked you to give them a random piece of advice, what would you say?  don’t fake who you are or try to fit in, just be yourself, because faking and trying to fit in is exhausting and really damaging
  17. What are some things that make you really happy? Evan (my partner) The Tudor period, William (my teddy) quizzes (writing, watching, playing them)  Kingston (Evan’s dog)
  18. What are some things that make you really sad? bullying and abuse, injustice, discrimination, littering
  19. What are some things that scare you? scary films and TV shows and scary for me is Miss Marple! but I still watch Sherlock because it is addictive, but I have hunted my flat afterwards for body parts, but it is such a good show.
  20. Do you like to plan things out in detail or be spontaneous? plan things out in detail, I do not do spontaneous, just no, I hate surprises
  21. Are you a religious person? no, I am an atheist
  22. If you could go back in history, who would you like to meet? oh gosh so many people, but Anne Boleyn, I’d want to ask her for the truth about what happened for her to be executed, as historians are not certain and there are historians on either side, some say she was guilty, others say she was innocent of the crimes she was executed for
  23. Would you rather live in the country or in the city? the country, most definitely
  24. Have you ever tried sushi? (Did you like it?) yes and no it was yucky
  25. Do you like spicy food? no, I often find a korma too spicy!
  26. How do you like your steak cooked? I’m vegetarian, so I don’t want a steak!
  27. Do you have a favourite number? Any particular reason why you like that number? 9, because 9 is 3×3 and therefore perfect, 3 is the number my compulsions have to be done it as part of my OCD and therefore 3×3 for me is perfect
  28. What do you like least about yourself? the fact I have severe difficultly expressing my emotions
  29. What embarrasses you? a hell of a lot of things
  30. Have you ever fired a gun? Yes at a rifle range thing on a school trip
  31.  Have you ever tried archery? yes several times, again on school trips.
  32. What’s the best decision you ever made? coming out as trans
  33. Who’s your best / closest friend? Evan, even though they are my partner too, they are my best friend too
  34. What were your grades like in school? average
  35. Have you ever been professionally photographed? Yes, so I could have a picture for the programme notes when I performed Mozart’s 3rd horn concerto the 2nd time.
  36. Are you an introvert or an extrovert? most definitely introvert
  37. Have you ever played golf? Only on the school field, we had to teach each other our main sports in A level PE and one guy taught the rest of us golf (only about 7 in the class) I was awful, I mostly just made massive holes in the grass and when I did hit the ball it didn’t go at all where I was aiming it! Not a fan of watching it either.
  38. Do you think God exists? no
  39. Do you think any kind of afterlife exists? no
  40. Do you vote? Why / Why not? If you do vote, how do you usually vote?  Yes I have always voted since I could, I want to have my input. Usually Green party in the past, but now with Corbyn as the leader of Labour I am more supportive of them
  41. Have you ever been in a helicopter? Yes, at my work experience week at the Royal Military School of Music, it was horrendous, never felt so ill (motion sickness ill)
  42. Do you think gay people choose to be gay? Do you think straight people choose to be straight? no body chooses their sexuality and/or gender identity, you are who you are
  43. Is torture ever a good option? If no, why not? If yes, when? No it is never a good option, people being tortured may often lie with false information or just say yes they’re guilty when they aren’t to make the torture stop. It is also horrendous and against human rights, this includes solidarity confinement
  44. What’s the biggest lie you’ve ever told? 19.5 years of my life living as female
  45. Have you ever owned a goldfish? Yes, three and they lived for about 10 years. We had a hospital tank and everything for them (that was because I read several books before we got them and made sure we did it all properly!)
  46. Do you cry easily? yes, I never used to, I used to forcibly stop myself from crying growing up, now I can’t I just cry, I cried at one of those bloody meerkat adverts
  47. How do you feel about public speaking? I have done it in the past and it is terrifying and makes me severely anxious, only to small groups though.
  48. Do you like to talk on the phone? No and if I do have to talk on the phone, I am shaking and sweating and panicking and extremely anxious and just tend to say yes and no
  49. What did you do on your 16th birthday? I went to my first CAMHS (child and adolescent mental health service) appointment and spent it shrugging my shoulders feeling like shit
  50. How would you explain your basic life philosophy? Probably with this Christopher Hitchens quote: “Never be a spectator of unfairness or stupidity. The grave will supply plenty of time for silence”

 

Leave a Reply

